Sewing Project #2 ~ FABRIC earrings

I’m still working on project #1, I’ve had a problem with my hand, as well as got a different idea for it so I had to undo some of my work.

TIMG_0316his project was inspired by this pair of earrings….

My Aunt had bought them from someone…and I don’t want to copy someone so I put my own style twist on it. I liked the front of them which is the earring on the left.. Yes they have 2 different fabric designs on front & back.  I did mine with just one design and FOLDED the fabric over the heatbond… (& at least for now was  for practice… )

 

Keep in mind when you see my twist on this  that i HAND SEWED & embroidered them. This way you can make the stitch as small as you want not to mention where you want it (instead of it going through the embroidered part…)

Once I find 2 different types of fabric I think the designs would be cool together then I’ll make the version in the picture.

Supplies

-scissors

-sewing  Needle (or machine)

-Iron

-colored thread      (depends on color of fabric)

-Fat quater  60 Pcs Fabric Cotton 100% Printed Boundle Patchwork Squares of 10*10cm

Or just go get 2 of the ones at Walkmart that are like 99cents (or maybe a little more) you don’t need a whole stack!

Thermoweb Heat’n Bond Light Weight Iron-On Fusible Interfacing-White 20″X36″
I had used the Ultra (heavy duty) but that was because mine was already opened)

-Fiber fill (prefereably in sheets) Fairfield Poly-Fil Traditional White Quilt Batting, Full Size, 81-Inch by 96-Inch, 1 Batting

(*For the photo version you need fabric paint, 2 different designs of fabric)

 

Step by Step

  1. Cut a piece of the fabric from the square. I cut a long piece to make a few (of various shapes)

2.  cut the heat & bond  to half that size

3. lay heat & bond between the fabric

4. Iron while making sure there are no spots that open (otherwise you may get some fraying.)

5.  Cut to size & shapes you want (so much easier to do after the heat bond..though you may get a few spots that will open at the edges)

6.  if some of the pieces are a bit ‘big’ you can fold in half & use the iron to make it stay

7. Using the design in the fabric and ’embroider’ (which was my idea for it)

medium to dark colored fabric    use bright, or lighter thread colors  (even metallic)

Light colored fabric use dark thread colors

(if it’s a solid piece of fabric.. there’s all sorts you can do but if a gift.. why not monogram

8.  once done with the embroidery   sew around the edge (2-3 sides)

9. take a pinch of stuffing & fill  (if you are able to get ‘poly fill’ as a sheet (quilt batting) that is what you need if you want it ‘quilted’ looking. mine look more like mouse pillows

10. finish sewing the side

 

11. Make hole  (You might want to use an eye rivet)

12  & include jump ring & fishook earring

 

13 You’re done!!

p.s once I get the items I need to make the hole and turn it into a earring.. I will post photos or video of that as well…

You can find some of them on my Etsy Shop Kims knock out Customs

(if they are not yet up, please drop a note here or on the site, and I will post them for you to see.)

What did you think ? Any suggestions, Ideas (for article or to better the blog) are welcome

